Treaty of Waitangi

LI: To explore the world in 1840 and the art of the Treaty

This week we looked at what the world looked like in 1840. Did you know that Queen Victoria was the Queen of England? After this we identified some of the key people and their role in signing of the Treaty of Waitangi. I found it interesting that Hone Heke was the first person to sign the Treaty of Waitangi and he was a supporter of the Treaty of Waitangi. We then used the information from both of these activities to help us read a painting of the day the treaty was signed. We used our knowledge to infer what the artist Marcus King might have wanted us to think was happening. I found this really interesting because it helps me learn lots of informations about the Treaty of Waitangi and the painting that was made by Marcus King helped me infer so I could think what was happening on the day the Treaty of Waitangi was signed.

One thought on “Treaty of Waitangi

  1. Kia Ora Siniva.
    I like your blogpost about the Treaty of Waitangi, its great to see you’ve learned a lot about the Treaty.
    I also find it intersing Hone heke was the first to sign the Treaty of Waitangi.
    It would be better if you added more columns to your writing so I can read it better.
    Aroha nui Taya.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *