Tongan Kiekie

I completed a Kick-Start task from the Summer Learning Journey, for this actitivty I had to create my own kiekie.

A kiekie is a traditional clothing in the Tongan culture, its a type of clothing wrapped around your waist. People often wear their kiekie on formal events, like birthday parties, funerals, church, weddings, graduations and other special occasions. Wearing a kiekie and/or ta’ovala is an important way of showing respect and honour to others towards one another. A kiekie is really important to me and my family because it represents our culture.

This activity was enjoyable because it was about my culture, and I enjoy doing activities that are related to the Polynesian culture, especially my culture. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *